Board of County Commissioners

District 1_Moore rev District 2_Bryant rev District 3_Gold rev District 4_Zalak rev District 5_Stone rev
District 1
District 2
Vice Chair
District 3
District 4
Michelle Stone
District 5

The Board of County Commissioners is the primary legislative and policy-making body for Marion County. Each commissioner represents one of the five districts in which they reside. They are elected by all county voters to serve a four-year term. The board elects a chairman and vice-chairman each year.

The commission meets on the first and third Tuesday of each month at 9 a.m. in the Commission Auditorium (601 SE 25th Ave., Ocala). During these public meetings, commissioners hear and vote on a variety of issues. Whether enacting ordinances and resolutions or approving budgets and expenditures, this board has the responsibility to provide for the safety and welfare of all Marion County residents. 

The Board of County Commissioners' overall operating budget includes the county administrator and 23 departments and offices and is funded through general county ad valorem taxes and other revenue sources. Ad valorem taxes are also used to fund the elected constitutional officers, state-mandated programs such as Medicaid and various other programs.

Marion County's population has increased approximately 28-percent within the last 10 years. This growth has challenged us to find innovative and resourceful funding options for the increasing demand on services. Building public/private partnerships is one option which has proven to be our most successful.

Marion County Board of County Commissioners
Email all commissioners



- 2017 Marion County legislative delegation (pdf).
- 2017 State legislative priorities (pdf).
- Commission liaison chart.
- Lobbying efforts.
- State-of-the-County.
- Union negotiations.

Quick links
- 2014-15 Fiscal year wrap-up infographic.
- County organizational chart.
Trim Notices explained:
- General information.
- Detailed information.


601 SE 25th Ave., Ocala, FL 34471
Phone: 352-438-2323  Fax: 352-438-2324