Legislation and lobbying

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Learn more about Marion County's priorities and the vision for our community's future here

2019 Legislative priorities

A summary of Marion County's values and vision

as presented to the legislature in Tallahassee

may be accessed here.


Overview of the funding and action requests included in the above linked packet:

  • Next state veterans’ nursing home sited in Marion County. An appropriations bill of approximately $6.5 million is forthcoming.
  • Southeastern Livestock Pavilion completion of phase three construction in the amount of $3,671,768 per Florida Statutes, section 288.1175.
  • Implementation of the Florida Department of Environmental Protection’s unit management plan for Silver Springs State Park, an estimated $1.5 million.
  • Discretionary sales tax allowance modifications, implementation of a transportation sales surtax for non-charter counties and indexing local-option fuel taxes.
  • Standardizing and streamlining grant application processes for water management districts with septic-to-sewer projects receiving a 25% funding matching.
    Funds collected from Marion County documentary stamps to be paid through the county’s annual SHIP allocation.
  • Continuing contract threshold increase for the Consultants’ Competitive Negotiation Act.
  • County government consent to provide utility services within county service areas.
  • Contact information during public land permitting process for small cell towers for emergency, maintenance and repair purposes.
  • Commemorate Marion County’s 175th anniversary with a gubernatorial proclamation.

2019 Legislative delegation

Federal State
Rick Scott, Senator Ron DeSantis, Governor
Tallahassee Office
The Capitol
111 N. Adams St., Suite 208
400 S. Monroe St.
Tallahassee, FL 32301
Tallahassee, FL 32399
T: 850-942-8415
T: 352-717-9337
Marco Rubio, Senator 
Dennis Baxley, Senator; district 12
Orlando Office
District Office
201 S. Orange Ave., Suite 350
206 S. Highway 27/441
Orlando, FL 32801
Lady Lake, FL 32159 
T: 866-630-7106
T: 352-750-3133 
Neal Dunn, Representative; district 2
Rob Bradley, Senator; district 5
Tallahassee Office
District Office
300 S. Adams St.
1279 Kingsley Ave., Suite 107
Tallahassee, FL 32301
Orange Park, FL 32073
T: 850-891-8610
T: 888-347-3483
Daniel Webster, Representative; district 11
Keith Perry, Senator; district 8
The Villages Office
District Office
8015 E. County Road 466, Suite B
2610 NW 43rd St., Suite 2B
The Villages, FL 32162
Gainesville, FL 32606 
T: 352-383-3552
T: 352-264-4040
Ted Yoho, Representative; district 3
Brett Thomas Hage, Representative; district 33
Ocala District Office
District Office
115 SE 25th Ave.
916 Avenida Central
Ocala, FL 34471
The Villages, FL 32159
T: 352-390-6413
T: 352-315-4445
Search all federal legislators here.
Stan McClain, Representative; district 23

District Office
  315 SE 25th Ave.

Ocala, FL 34471

T: 352-723-1313

Charlie Stone, Representative; district 22

District Office

3001 SW College Road, Suite 104
  Ocala, FL 34474

T: 352-291-4436

Clovis Watson Jr., Representative; district 20

District Office

2815 NW 13th St., Suite 202

Gainesville, FL 32609
  T: 352-264-4001

View statewide delegates by county here.